Databases for Regional Studies

Citations and abstracts of articles on all facets of Africa and African studies.

Access to articles published on allAfrica.com from 1996 to the present.

Chinese Academic Journals is the largest full-text database of Chinese academic journals in the world. Tufts subscribes to journals in the subjects of politics, military affairs, and law.

EastView Universal Databases

East View Information Services includes access to Current Digest of the Russian Press and Current Digest of the Chinese Press. Also archival newspapers and publications from Asia, Mexico, Africa, the Middle East and the Soviet Union.

EMIS

Emerging Markets Information Service provides financial, company, industry, and macroeconomic information, an daily news from emerging market countries.

EURA

The Eurasia Atlantic Database is a bibliographic and fulltext database that provides intensive area coverage (especially for economic development, investment, trade and technological industries) for Eastern Europe and the Former Soviet Union, and lesser coverage to Western Europe. The database provides unusual historical depth for Soviet and WWII history, including diplomatic/historical documentation such as diplomatic papers and the Nuremberg War Crimes Trials in fulltext.

HAPI Online

Citations to Latin American journal articles, many with links to full text. Hispanic American Periodicals Index

Index Islamicus

The Index Islamicus covers Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. It is produced by the Islamic Bibliography Unit of the Cambridge University Library and indexes articles back to 1906.

International African Bibliography Online

The International African Bibliography Online (IABO) is a specialist bibliography of African Studies and contains 140,000 entries of the International African Bibliography published in the years 1971 to 2015 and about 4,000 new publications will be added per year. The IABO can be browsed by categories and offers detailed search options.

Middle East and Africa Database

Bibliographic and fulltext area coverage for the Middle East and Africa. Access to journals, newspapers, conference proceedings, press releases, books, manuals, magazines, and ephemera.

Mideastwire.com

Daily news from newspapers, TV, and radio, originating in Arab countries, Iran, and the Arab Media Diaspora; English translation and original language.

North Korea News (NK Pro)

An independent news site focusing on North Korea. Content includes news, intelligence analysis, travel reports, and a leadership tracking tool.

Passport

[Requires Tufts UTLN and password even on campus.]
Global market information on industries, countries, consumers, and companies; statistical data; consumer demographics and market trends.

Transitions

News and trends in Central and Eastern Europe and the former Soviet Union.