Databases

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | W | Y

A

Scholarly and trade journal articles in business, management, and trade; dissertations, market and industry reports. Includes full text of The Wall Street Journal, Eastern Edition.

The Advanced Search enables searching on case study as document type and can be filtered for full-text availability.

Academic Video Online delivers almost 70,000 video titles spanning a wide range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more; including documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, raw footage, and thousands of award-winning films, including Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners.
Access World News from NewsBank provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. Date coverage varies with individual newspaper.

Monograph series on strategic and defense issues from the International Institute of Strategic Studies.

Citations and abstracts of articles on all facets of Africa and African studies.

Provides access to more than 40 fully searchable African newspapers covering issues and events between 1800 and 1922.

Full text articles from the alternative and independent press.

Through AM Explorer, you can search millions of pages of primary sources spanning the 15th–21st centuries, including a wealth of new content added every year. Resources span the social sciences and humanities, developed in collaboration with leading libraries and archives.

Includes publication: Diplomatic History

Public policy think tank that includes works on economics, foreign and defense policy, society and culture, health care, politics and public opinion, poverty studies, and education.

Literature reviews of primary research in the sciences and social sciences.

Information about primary source materials from U.S. manuscript repositories, with detailed indexes of manuscript and other special collections.
Archives Unbound presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents that cover a broad range of topics from the Middle Ages forward-from Witchcraft to World War II to twentieth-century political history.
AREAER Online provides direct access to the exchange rate and trade regimes data for all members of the International Monetary Fund that was used to create the yearly reports since 1999. The data can be searched across years, countries, and specific categories.
Consists of three sections: Historic Archives containing documents and audiovisual materials relating to the negotiation and adoption of significant legal instruments under the auspices of the United Nations and related agencies since 1945; (2) Lecture Series featuring a permanent collection of lectures on every subject of international law given by leading international law scholars and practitioners from different countries and legal systems; and (3) Research Library providing an on-line international law library with links to treaties, jurisprudence, publications and documents, scholarly writings and research guides. Video requires Real Player.

a

Access to articles published on allAfrica.com from 1996 to the present.

B

Available in Ginn Library at terminals in the group study area to Tufts affiliates only. Current and historical financial information on individual equities, stock market indices, fixed-income securities, currencies, commodities, and futures for both international and domestic markets.

Index to business and management topics, with full-text or abstract for each entry; includes company profiles.

C

Discussion papers from the Centre for Economic Policy and Research.

Guidelines for citations, writing style, and manuscript preparation.

Economic statistics of China, arranged by regions and categories.

CIAO includes working papers, conference proceedings, policy briefs, journal articles, case studies. 

An index and abstracting resource with considerable full-text. It incorporates the content of CommSearch & Mass Media Articles Index along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline.

A major online resource for information on all aspects of Congressional work from ProQuest. Includes hearing transcripts, committee reports, bills, committee prints, the Congressional Record, the Federal Register, the Code of Federal Regulations, and public laws. (Formerly known as LexisNexis Congressional Universe)

Connect (IHS Markit) has comprehensive economic, financial, and political coverage of countries, regions, and industries, providing analysis, modeling and forecasting.

 

 CountryData.com (PRS) includes financial, political and economic risk ratings.

 

Background information on U.S. congress, public policy, and current affairs.

Provides ranges of annual data from 1815 to the present for all countries for many variables, including domestic conflict event data and political, legislative, and economic data. More information about variables found in this data set can be found here: https://www.cntsdata.com/coverage.

D

 D&B Hoovers (formerly D&B Business Browser) includes companies, industries, and executives - U.S. and international.

 

Access to European research theses from 360+ universities.

Available databases include U.S. Businesses, New Businesses. Consumers, Jobs, and Healthcare. The U.S. Business database contains a total of 50 million businesses including 15 million verified and 35 million unverified businesses that are updated weekly. Search by business name and type, executive title, sales volume, year established and more. HealthCare provides detailed information about 855,000 physicians and dentists, searchable by name, gender, state of license, medical school attended, and other criteria. Formerly ReferenceUSA

Several thousand national and international standardized datasets. Data can be displayed in charts, graphs, maps, and tables, as well as exported for further manipulation.

Declassified primary documents on US foreign and military policy since 1945.

This database gives access to the dissertations and theses produced by students at Tufts University.
Comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses available in PDF format for immediate download.
Docuseek2 is the internet site where colleges, universities, and other educational institutions can discover, access, license, stream and share amongst their students, faculty and staff, the best documentary and social issues films and videos available.

E

East View Information Services includes access to Current Digest of the Russian Press and Current Digest of the Chinese Press.  Also archival newspapers and publications from Asia, Mexico, Africa, the Middle East and the Soviet Union.

This database is the essence of current ecology research across a wide range of disciplines, reflecting recent advances in light of growing evidence regarding global environmental change and destruction. Ecology Abstracts focuses on how organisms of all kinds - microbes, plants and animals - interact with their environments and with other organisms. Included are relevant papers on evolutionary biology, economics and systems analysis as they relate to ecosystems or the environment.

Online version of Journal of Economic Literature Index; covers economic theory and application from journals, books, and dissertations.

Economist Intelligence Unit reports provides access to full-text of Country Reports, Country Profiles, Financial Services Reports and Country Commerce series, and Risk Briefing. All reports -except Risk Briefing- can be searched simultaneously.

Policy, practice, and research documents on international development topics.

Emerging Markets Information Service provides financial, company, industry, and macroeconomic information, an daily news from emerging market countries.

Encyclopedia includes 3 English editions, a French edition, and the Historical Atlas of Islam.

This encyclopedia includes some four dozen entries on ethic conflicts around the world.
Daily coverage of environmental and energy policy and markets from E & E Publishing. Includes ClimateWire, GreenWire, and Land Letter. Interviews are available from E&ETV.

This database encompasses all aspects of the impact of people and technology on the environment and the effectiveness of remedial policies and technologies, featuring more than 950 journals published in the U.S. and abroad. The database also covers conference papers and proceedings, special reports from international agencies, non-governmental organizations, universities, associations and private corporations. Other materials selectively indexed include significant monographs, government studies and newsletters.

Records for journals and monographs on all environment subjects going back to the 1880s; full text for many journal articles.

Analysis concerning developments in business ethics and corporate responsibility around the world. Links to Ethical Corporation magazine and resources on developing and implementing corporate social responsibility (CSR).

Combines Europa World Yearbook and Europa World Regional Surveys; covers politics, government, history, economics, statistics and directory data.

F

News and business sources from around the world, including newspapers, magazines, wire services, media transcripts, company and industry reports, historical market data, and advanced charting tools.

Filmakers Library Online provides award-winning documentaries in a single, easy-to search, multidisciplinary collection of streaming video designed specifically to meet the needs of researchers and teaching faculty.

Translated broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals and government statements from around the world, 1941-1996.

The directory contains information about the largest public and private foundations in the U.S. and links to foundation web sites. This edition includes full text access from more than 250,000 IRS 990 forms, 80,000 detailed funder profiles, half a million recently awarded grants, RFPs, key staff affiliations, publications, news and job postings.

G

Journals in all academic subjects with many peer-reviewed articles.

Includes: Consultants & Consulting Organizations Directory and the Encyclopedia of Business Information Sources

Gallup Organization polling results going back to the 1930s.

GenderWatch is a full-text collection of international sources, including journals, special reports and conference proceedings on a wide range of women's issues. It includes archival materials dating back to the 1970s. GenderWatch allows both full-text and indexed searching.

International intelligence reports and briefs covering political, military and economic affairs topics.

Google's database of scholarly articles. Use this link to access full text articles available in Tufts' databases directly from Google Scholar.

Index to U.S. government documents.
GreenFILE is a research database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment, with information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond.

H

Citations to Latin American journal articles, many with links to full text. Hispanic American Periodicals Index

A comprehensive, image-based collection of legal periodicals, treaties, U.S. Supreme Court cases, U.S. Attorney General opinions, and the Federal Register. Many historical collections of world wide resources.

HeinOnline's Water Rights & Resources is dedicated to understanding the complex interplay of state and federal laws that govern all aspects of water in society, from municipal use to restoring its pristine condition. Collecting congressional documents, books, legislative histories on major legislation, and Supreme Court briefs on related cases, this collection touches on a wide range of water issues, including irrigation, hydropower, water conservation, drinking water quality, and tribal water rights, encompassing the unique water rights issues that span from the Eastern seaboard to the Great Lakes and across the arid West.

U.S. policy documents, presidential directives, and national strategy documents, as well as theses and reports from various universities, organizations, and local and state agencies.

A curated collection of over 1,300 multimedia case studies, video lectures, and industry insights presented by experts from both academia and industry. This diverse collection, available to Tufts University students and graduates, covers topics from business start-up and entrepreneurship to Blockchain, Big Data, global business and trade as well as videos on marketing, management and leadership skills, making it an invaluable resource for continued professional development.

I

Periodicals, books, and analytical papers from International Monetary Fund.

ImpactAlpha’s daily newsletter, The Brief, and other available resources provide news and analysis focused on the social and environmental investment landscape. Members of the Tufts Community must first set-up an account to access much of the content 

The Index Islamicus covers Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. It is produced by the Islamic Bibliography Unit of the Cambridge University Library and indexes articles back to 1906.

Socioeconomic information about India with sector and state statistics. Click 'Login' in the upper right and then 'IP Login' for full access. Please logout when done - only 3 users may access at one time. Indiastat.com provides reliable statistics on various sectors and states in India.

ICPSR is an archive of social science data for research and instruction. Data files are raw data, not in report format, and are used with statistical software, such as SAS, SPSS, and Stata. Create an account for yourself to access data.

The International African Bibliography Online (IABO) is a specialist bibliography of African Studies and contains 140,000 entries of the International African Bibliography published in the years 1971 to 2015 and about 4,000 new publications will be added per year. The IABO can be browsed by categories and offers detailed search options.

J

A selection of Jane's periodicals and databases, with information on defense, security, weapons, terrorism, insurgency, and intelligence.

K

Kanopy is a service providing streaming videos for educational purposes. Major subjects covered include: the arts, business and training, health sciences, media and communication, natural sciences, social sciences, and teacher education. Users can search, browse and see previews of videos.

Full text access to Common Market Law Review, Journal of World Trade, European Foreign Affairs Review, and Journal of International Arbitration.

L

A collection of historical Latin American newspapers including 35 newspapers published between 1805 and 1922 in Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Guyana, Mexico, Peru, Trinidad and Venezuela.

Complement to Latin American Newspapers Series 1. Expands the number of titles available from this region, including from some countries and cities not represented in Series 1.

This database has changed its name.  See Nexis Uni

LexisAdvance

Legal research database featuring largely U.S. cases, international materials, and secondary sources.   Limited use Fletcher resource. Please see Ginn Research and Instruction Librarians regarding access.

M

Language learning resources for 60+ languages.

Comprehensive analytical resource covering all major topics in public international law. Articles are peer reviewed and have linked references.

Bibliographic and fulltext area coverage for the Middle East and Africa. Access to journals, newspapers, conference proceedings, press releases, books, manuals, magazines, and ephemera.

Daily news from newspapers, TV, and radio, originating in Arab countries, Iran, and the Arab Media Diaspora; English translation and original language.

From IISS. Military capabilities and defense economics worldwide. 1961-present.
Military database covers topics across all government and military branches, including international relations, political science, criminology, defense, aeronautics and space flight, communications and civil engineering. Full-text titles including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings and government publications.

The Fletcher Multilaterals Project (1992-2009) is an archived project of The Fletcher School (Tufts University, Medford, Massachusetts) which made the texts of international multilateral conventions and other instruments available online. The project was initiated to improve public access to environmental agreements, but also includes treaties in the fields of human rights, commerce and trade, laws of war and arms control, and other areas. While most of the included texts date from 1945 or later, the collection also includes older historical texts, from the 1648 Treaty of Westphalia to the Covenant of the League of Nations.

N

Statistical data source on countries with information from sources such as the CIA World Factbook, UN, and OECD. Users can generate maps and graphs on all kinds of statistics.

Working papers from the National Bureau of Economic Research.

Comprehensive world news, business, financial, and legal resource. Previously known as LexisNexis Academic.

An independent news site focusing on North Korea. Content includes news, intelligence analysis, travel reports, and a leadership tracking tool.

O

Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development publications.

Full text of major American opinion magazines.

Authoritative research guides on a wide variety of subjects.

Oxford Constitutions of the World contains fully-translated English-language versions of all the world's constitutions (both national and sub-national), accompanied by individual jurisdictional commentaries, and supplementary materials, including foundation documents, historical versions of constitutions, and amendment Acts/Laws.

Searchable collection of digital Oxford Handbooks across and a variety of disciplinary subjects including Business and Management, Economics and Finance, Law, and Political Science. 

Encyclopedia covering multiple topics.

Encyclopedia covering multiple topics.

Contains full-text online editions of market-leading reference works and treatises published by OxfordUniversity Press.

P

Contains citations to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research and conference reports, 1915-

[Requires Tufts UTLN and password even on campus.]
Global market information on industries, countries, consumers, and companies; statistical data; consumer demographics and market trends.

The PBS Video Collection assembles hundreds of documentary films and series from the history of PBS.

Access to all of the top moot court competitions since 1960, including the Problems, Judges' Briefs, Rules, and leading written memorials.

Pitchbook provides data and research covering private capital markets, including venture capital, private equity and M&A transactions.  Also detailed private and public company financials.

Policy papers from major think tanks and research organizations.

A web-based GIS platform for the creation of US maps down to the Census block group. Available data includes demographics, home sale statistics, health data, mortgage trends, school performance scores and labor data like unemployment, crime statistics and city crime rates.

A comprehensive database providing legislative and regulatory insights, data tools and resources for policy research. On-demand, graphic visualization library translates complex policy issues and data sets into infographics. The Document Drawer repository offers primary source documentation. Limited state coverage also included.

Public opinion material from the United States and 100 other countries.

This PubMed link provides access to NCBI's databases with links out to articles licensed by Tufts. Its MEDLINE content contains over 11 million journal citations and abstracts in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, healthcare systems, and pre-clinical sciences. Full-text coverage of journals licensed or owned by Tufts is available via blue Tufts print and electronic icons on its Abstract display below each citation. PubMed links to free full text and to Tufts' holdings appear to the right of the search results.

R

iPOLL Databank includes national scope surveys with question texts and responses back to 1935.

S

Full-text journals in the sciences and social sciences. 
E-Books: Book series and reference works.

Specializes in scientific technical and medical literature but also includes access to hundreds of journals in psychology, education, and more.

Provides an overview of developments in international security, weapons and technology, military expenditure, the arms trade and arms production, and armed conflicts, along with efforts to control conventional, nuclear, chemical and biological weapons.

Open access repository of pre-prints and publicly available working documents from across a variety of social science disciplines including Law, Education, and Business.

Portal to a selection of legal information, including LegalTrac Index to law periodicals, and Massachusetts courts and administrative agencies databases.

Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is an open access resource devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research and is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences.

Covers key historical events, population, city profiles, social statistics, climate, recent elections, current leaders, defence, international relations, economy, energy and natural resources, industry, international trade, religion, culture, and diplomatic representatives, as well as fact sheets for countries world wide.

Statista provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries.
The ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. The online version includes monthly updates to tables, deep searching at the line-item level, powerful facets for narrowing search results, image and spreadsheet versions of all current and historical tables, along with links to provider sites.

Statistical information produced by U.S. Federal agencies, states, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations. Links to International Datasets.

"Strategic Survey: The Annual Assessment of Geopolitics" annually provides in-depth analysis of the developing relationships between major powers, charting the significant events and strategic decisions of that year.   Content is available back to 1966.

T

Digital intelligence repository of research and analysis covering terrorism and political violence.

Covers current issues in Central and Eastern Europe including former Soviet Union countries.

U

U.K. Parliamentary Papers encompasses all areas of social, political, economic and foreign policy, showing how issues were explored and legislation was formed.
U.S. Declassified Documents Online, formerly Declassified Documents Reference System, offers access to more than 750,000 pages of government documents. Covering major policy issues from the period before the Second World War into the twenty first century, the archive serves as a convenient source for documents from government departments including Defense; State; Treasury; CIA; and the White House. USDDO supports the study of history, politics, international relations, and journalism, among other fields.

Index to government and other public documents, with some links to full text.

Legal research collection of current and historical materials, including full-text law journals and texts; Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals; U.S. laws, regulations, cases and Congressional materials; international treaties and constitutions, foreign and comparative law materials, United Nations and League of Nations publications; and Jessup moot court information.

On-demand learning with access to online courses on software training, business, technology, and leadership skills.

Bibliographic and publisher information on more than 300,000 periodicals of all types.

UNdata provides a single point of access for numerous databases, tables and glossaries containing over 60 million data points cover a wide range of themes including Agriculture, Crime, Education, Employment, Energy, Environment, Health, HIV/AIDS, Human Development, Industry, Information and Communication Technology, National Accounts, Population, Refugees, Tourism, Trade, as well as the Millennium Development Goals indicators.

Certified treaties and status information is provided. League of Nations Treaty Series included.

The Official Documents System ODS covers all official United Nations documentation from 1992 forward.  Historical UN documents are also being added to the system.  ODS holdings include resolutions of the General Assembly, Security Council, Economic and Social Council, and the Trusteeship Council from 1946 onward.

Provided by the U.S. Census Bureau, USA Trade Online is a dynamic data tool that gives users access to current and cumulative U.S. export and import data. This software allows users to create customized reports and colorful charts detailing international trade data at different levels. All data are updated each month with the release of the latest U.S. International Trade in Goods and Services Report. **Note: The site is free to all but users must login. Tufts users may sign-up for personal accounts or use the institutional account.

W

Includes coverage of WSJ Newspapers from 1889 - 2011. For current news and to create a free personal account for direct publisher access through Tufts, see: https://researchguides.library.tufts.edu/WSJ

Abstracts from journals, books, proceedings, and technical reports covering the use and management of water resources.

Citation indexes - including Journal Citation Reports and Data Citation Index. Includes resources in the sciences, social sciences, public health, health sciences, and interdisciplinary subjects.

Westlaw
Ginn Library/Tufts no longer subscribes to the Westlaw database for legal research.  Former Westlaw users are encouraged to contact the Ginn Research and Instruction Librarians regarding access to Lexis Advance, a database featuring largely U.S. cases, international materials, and secondary sources. 

Covers sociology, history, political science, economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education, 1972-

Data catalog that includes collection of statistical databases, including World Development Indicators, African Development Indicators, Global Development Finance, Millennium Development Indicators, and others.

The collection of streaming videos that features full runs of many of the key international newsreels produced during the first half of the twentieth century. Key collections include: Universal Newsreels, Universal Studios, Les Actualites Francaises, Nippon News and The March of Time. The collection is semantically indexed, allowing users to search by subject, year, historical era, historical event, people, and places.

Annual dataset from the International Telecommmunication Union, a specialised agency of the United Nations that is responsible for issues that concern information and communication technologies.  The dataset is stored on a USB drive that may be checked out from the Ginn Library Circulation Desk.

This collection brings together Rohn, Dumont, Bevans, Martens, League of Nations, United States, and United Nations treaties into one fully searchable database. Includes related treaty publications, scholarly articles, and a bibliography of related publications.

Provides access to primary source documents related to international trade law, a full-text search engine for GATT/WTO decisions, and links to related information on the Web. Includes Dispute settlement commentary (DSC), provides summaries and analysis of WTO Panel and Appellate Body reports, an index of legal provisions and terms, and a database of dispute settlement tables and statistics.

Indexing and links to full text of articles in political science, including international relations, law, and public policy.

Y

A directory of over 66,000 international organizations including Intergovernmental Organizations (IGOs) and International Nongovernmental Organizations (INGOs) in 300 countries and territories.

Loading content ...
Loading content ...