Databases for News


Access World News
Access World News from NewsBank provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. Date coverage varies with individual newspaper.

African Newspapers, 1800-1922
Provides access to more than 40 fully searchable African newspapers covering issues and events between 1800 and 1922.

Alt-PressWatch

Full text articles from the alternative and independent press.


EastView Universal Databases

East View Information Services includes access to Current Digest of the Russian Press and Current Digest of the Chinese Press.  Also archival newspapers and publications from Asia, Mexico, Africa, the Middle East and the Soviet Union.


EMIS

Emerging Markets Information Service provides financial, company, industry, and macroeconomic information, an daily news from emerging market countries.


Factiva

News and business sources from around the world, including newspapers, magazines, wire services, media transcripts, company and industry reports, historical market data, and advanced charting tools.


Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports

Translated broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals and government statements from around the world, 1941-1996.


Latin American Newspapers Series 1

A collection of historical Latin American newspapers including 35 newspapers published between 1805 and 1922 in Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Guyana, Mexico, Peru, Trinidad and Venezuela.


Latin American Newspapers Series 2

Complement to Latin American Newspapers Series 1. Expands the number of titles available from this region, including from some countries and cities not represented in Series 1.


Mideastwire.com

Daily news from newspapers, TV, and radio, originating in Arab countries, Iran, and the Arab Media Diaspora; English translation and original language.


Nexis Uni

Comprehensive world news, business, financial, and legal resource. Previously known as LexisNexis Academic.


North Korea News (NK Pro)

An independent news site focusing on North Korea. Content includes news, intelligence analysis, travel reports, and a leadership tracking tool.


OpinionArchives

Full text of major American opinion magazines.


Politico Pro
A comprehensive database providing legislative and regulatory insights, data tools and resources for policy research. On-demand, graphic visualization library translates complex policy issues and data sets into infographics. The Document Drawer repository offers primary source documentation. Limited state coverage also included.

Transitions
News and trends in Central and Eastern Europe and the former Soviet Union.

Wall Street Journal Historical Newspapers

Includes coverage of WSJ Newspapers from 1889 - 2011. For current news and to create a free personal account for direct publisher access through Tufts, see: https://researchguides.library.tufts.edu/WSJ


World Newsreels Online: 1929-1966
The collection of streaming videos that features full runs of many of the key international newsreels produced during the first half of the twentieth century. Key collections include: Universal Newsreels, Universal Studios, Les Actualites Francaises, Nippon News and The March of Time. The collection is semantically indexed, allowing users to search by subject, year, historical era, historical event, people, and places.