Databases for Alumni

In addition to the list below, alumni can also access the Chicago Manual of Style, e-Duke, and World Shakespeare Bibliography databases. 

Connect to these databases using the Tufts Alumni Association.

ABI/INFORM Collection

Scholarly and trade journal articles in business, management, and trade; dissertations, market and industry reports. Includes full text of The Wall Street Journal, Eastern Edition.

ACLS Humanities E-Book

A collection of scholarly e-books in the Humanities. Strongest in history, the collection also includes works in Art History, Folklore, Literature, Musicology, Philosophy, and Religion.

African American Communities

African American history | 1800-2000 CE | Pamphlets, newspapers, periodicals, correspondence, official records, reports and oral histories.

Age of Exploration

History of migration and travel | 1420 - 1920 CE | Manuscripts, documents, maps, and images | European exploration.

AM Explorer

Through AM Explorer, you can search millions of pages of primary sources spanning the 15th–21st centuries, including a wealth of new content added every year. Resources span the social sciences and humanities, developed in collaboration with leading libraries and archives.

America in World War Two

American history | 1939-1945 CE | Oral histories and personal accounts.

American History, 1493-1945

American history | 1493-1945 CE | Correspondence, diaries, government documents, business records, books, pamphlets, newspapers, broadsides, photographs, artwork and maps.

American Indian Histories and Cultures

Native American history | 1500-1998 CE | Manuscripts, maps, atlases, legal documents, diaries, artwork, photographs, and newspapers.

American West

American history | 1718-1968 CE | Manuscripts, rare books, pamphlets, periodicals, broadsides, ephemera, maps and illustrative material.

Annual Reviews

Literature reviews of primary research in the sciences and social sciences.

Apartheid South Africa, 1948 - 1980

African history | 1948-1980 CE | British government files from the Foreign, Colonial, Dominion and Foreign and Commonwealth Offices.

Children's Literature and Culture

English literature, Social history | 1700-1977 CE | Rare books, games, ephemera, and artwork.

China, America and the Pacific

Economic history, Social history | 1648-1913 CE | Shipping records, correspondence, newspapers, rare books, maps, visual material.

China: Trade, Politics and Culture

Chinese history | 1793-1980 CE | Manuscripts, correspondence, government documents, and visual material.

Church Missionary Society Periodicals

History of religion, colonialism | 1800-2019 CE | Publications from Christian missionary societies.

Colonial America

American history | 1606-1802 CE | Volumes of the Colonial Office 5 series from the British National Archives.

Confidential Print: Africa, 1834-1966

African history, colonialism | 1834-1966 CE | British Foreign and Colonial Offices files.

Confidential Print: Latin America, 1833-1969

Latin American history, colonialism | 1833-1969 CE | British Foreign and Colonial Offices files.

Confidential Print: Middle East, 1839-1969

Middle Eastern history, colonialism | 1839-1969 CE |  British Foreign and Colonial Offices files.

Confidential Print: North America, 1824-1961

American history | 1824-1961 CE | British Foreign and Colonial Offices files.

CQ Press Library

Background information on U.S. congress, public policy, and current affairs.

Defining Gender

Social history | 1400-1949 CE | British source material.

Dissertations & Theses @ Tufts University

This database gives access to the dissertations and theses produced by students at Tufts University.

East India Company

Asian history, colonialism | 1599-1947 CE | Royal charters, correspondence, trading diaries, minutes of council meetings, and reports of expeditions.

Eighteenth Century Drama

English literature, drama | 1737-1824 CE | Larpent Collection of Plays, London Stage Database, Biographical Dictionary Database.

Eighteenth Century Journals

Social history, intellectual history | 1685-1835 CE | Periodicals.

Empire Online

Colonialism | 1482-2003 CE | Diaries, correspondence, government papers, travel writing, and maps.

Ethnomusicology

Anthropology, ethnomusicology, music | 1930 CE-present | Field audio recordings and interviews, film footage, field notebooks, slides, correspondence, and ephemera.

Everyday Life & Women in America, c.1800-1920

American history, social history | 1800-1920 CE | Monographs, pamphlets, periodicals and broadsides.

Food and Drink in History

Social history | 800-2015 CE | Cookbooks, business records, oral histories, periodicals, and ephemera.

Foreign Office Files for China, 1919-1980

Chinese history | 1919-1980 CE | British Foreign Office files.

Foreign Office Files for India, Pakistan and Afghanistan

Asian history | 1947-1980 CE | British Foreign Office files.

Foreign Office Files for Japan, 1919-1952

Japanese history | 1919-1952 CE | British Foreign Office files.

Foreign Office Files for Southeast Asia, 1963-1980

Asian history | 1963-1980 CE | British Foreign Office files.

Foreign Office Files for the Middle East, 1971-1981

Middle Eastern history | 1971-1981 CE | British Foreign Office files.

Frontier Life: Borderlands, Settlement & Colonial Encounters

Colonialism | 1650-1920 CE | Correspondence, diaries, government papers, business records, land transactions, legal documents, speeches, books and pamphlets | Focus on North America, Africa, and Australia.

Gender: Identity and Social Change

Social history | 1575-2014 CE | Pamphlets, diaries, speeches, newsletters, newspapers, and ephemera.

Global Commodities: Trade, Exploration & Cultural Exchange

Economic history | 1200-2000 CE | Business records, correspondence, maps, pamphlets, and dock reports.

HS Talks: Business & Management Collection

A curated collection of over 1,300 multimedia case studies, video lectures, and industry insights presented by experts from both academia and industry. This diverse collection, available to Tufts University students and graduates, covers topics from business start-up and entrepreneurship to Blockchain, Big Data, global business and trade as well as videos on marketing, management and leadership skills, making it an invaluable resource for continued professional development.

 

India, Raj and Empire

Asian history, colonialism | 1615-1947 CE | Diaries, official and private papers, correspondence, sketches, paintings and original Indian documents containing histories and literary works.

J. Walter Thompson: Advertising America

American history, social history | 1887-2014 CE | Archive of the J. Walter Thompson Company, one of the world's oldest and largest advertising firms.

Jewish Life in America, c. 1654-1954

American history | 1654-1954 CE | Correspondence, scrapbooks, autobiographies, notebooks, and photographs from the American Jewish Historical Society, New York.

JoVE Science Education

JoVE Science Education is a video collection dedicated to teaching laboratory fundamentals through simple, easy to understand video demonstrations.

JoVE Science Education, Psychology

JoVE Science Education, Psychology is a video library dedicated to teaching scientific fundamentals through simple easy-to-understand video demonstrations. The Psychology collection provides a framework for observing how psychological experiments are embedded in the actual research process, starting from the initial research design to arriving at conclusions in a study.

Leisure, Travel & Mass Culture: The History of Tourism

History of migration and travel | 1789-1995 CE | Brochures, diaries, correspondence, scrapbooks, maps, photographs, and government and company records.

Literary Manuscripts Berg

English literature | 1480 CE-present | Manuscripts, correspondence, notebooks | Emphasis on Victorian literature.

Literary Manuscripts Leeds

English literature | 1600-1800 CE | Poetry manuscripts from the Brotherton Library, University of Leeds.

Literary Print Culture

English literature | 1554-2007 CE | Records from The Stationers’ Company Archive | History of the book, copyright, and publishing.

London Low Life

British history | 1650-1940 CE | Broadsides, cartoons, pamphlets, maps, periodicals, posters, manuscripts, and books.

Macmillan Cabinet Papers, 1957-1963

British history | 1957-1963 CE | Official records from Harold Macmillan's tenure as British Prime minister.

Market Research & American Business, 1935-1965

American history, economic history | 1935-1965 CE | Correspondence, memos, market research reports, and business records.

Mass Observation Online

British history, social history | 1937-1960 CE | Diaries, field reports, and surveys from Mass Observation Organization.

Mass Observation Project, 1981-2009

British history, social history | 1981-2009 CE | Documents from the University of Sussex revival of the Mass Observation Organization.

Medical Services and Warfare

History of war | 1845-2001 CE | Hospital reports, medical reports, personal narratives, pamphlets, maps, and film.

Medieval Family Life

Medieval history | 1400-1499 CE | Color images of manuscripts and transcripts of manuscripts.

Medieval Travel Writing

Medieval history | 1200-1700 CE | Manuscript materials.

Meiji Japan

Japanese history | 1858-1925 CE | Papers, diaries, correspondence, drawings, scrapbooks, and manuscripts.

Migration to New Worlds

History of migration and travel | 1800-1924 CE | Personal accounts, oral histories, correspondence, pamphlets, scrapbooks, photographs, and maps.

Naxos Music Library

The online streaming audio collection of the Naxos recording label -- the current leading producer of classical music. The equivalent of more than 5,500 compact discs representing over 2,500 composers, the Naxos Library offers streams of not only Classical music, but also selected works in Jazz, Folk, and World music, as well as useful educational content, such as recording liner notes, biographical and historical essays, opera synopses and libretti, a glossary and pronunciation guide.

Nineteenth Century Literary Society

English literature | 1643-1982 CE | John Murray Archive | Book history, travel writing, politics, and poetry.

Ovid Databases

An aggregate of databases and journals in fields of: medicine, veterinary medicine, nursing, health and dentistry, and basic sciences.

Perdita Manuscripts

English literature | 1500-1719 CE | Literary manuscripts written or compiled by women | British Isles.

PhilPapers

PhilPapers is a comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers. We monitor all sources of research content in philosophy, including journals, books, open access archives, and personal pages maintained by academics. We also host the largest open access archive in philosophy.

Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975

Social history | 1950-1975 CE | Manuscripts, printed material, photographs, and ephemera.

Popular Medicine in America, 1800-1900

American history | 1800-1900 CE |  Rare books, pamphlets, trade cards, and advertising ephemera.

Poverty, Philanthropy, and Social Conditions in Victorian Britain

British history | 1678-1930 CE | Correspondence, newspapers, pamphlets, maps, government records.

Project MUSE

Journal collection in the humanities and social sciences.

Race Relations in America

American history, race | 1943-1970 CE | Case studies, audio recordings, scrapbooks, correspondence, government documents, and photographs.

Romanticism: Life, Literature and Landscape

English literature | 1642-1841 CE | Manuscripts, correspondence, diaries, travel journals, legal and financial records, maps, and fine art from the Wordsworth Trust.

SAGE Knowledge

The SAGE Knowledge platform provides cross-searching of SAGE resources including reference works, ebooks, and CQ Press. Included titles represent many disciplines within the social sciences such as juvenile justice, terrorism, social theory, crime, African American society, social welfare, education and many more themes.

Service Newspapers of World War Two

History of war | 1936-1948 CE | Newspapers.

Sex and Sexuality

Social history | 1700-2017 CE | Correspondence, diaries, newspapers, professional studies, pamphlets, photographs, statistics.

Shakespeare in Performance

English literature, drama | 1663-1984 CE | Prompt books from the Folger Shakespeare Library.

Shakespeare's Globe Archive

English literature, drama | 1971-2018 CE | Prompt books, wardrobe notes, programs, publicity material, annual reports, show reports, photographs and architectural plans.

Slavery, Abolition, and Social Justice

History of slavery | 1490-2007 CE | Manuscripts, pamphlets, books, paintings, and maps.

Socialism on Film: The Cold War and International Propaganda

Political history | 1918-1988 CE | Documentaries, newsreels, propaganda, and feature films.

The First World War

History of war | 1914-1918 CE | Personal narratives, government records, visual materials, and audio materials.

The Grand Tour

History of migration and travel | 1550-1850 CE | Correspondence, diaries, travel writing, guidebooks, maps, architectural drawings, and account books.

The Nixon Years, 1969-1974

American history | 1969-1974 CE | Records from Britain's Foreign and Commonwealth Office.

Trade Catalogues and the American Home

American history, social history | 1850-1950 CE | Trade catalogs, correspondence, 'how-to' guides, and ephemera.

Travel Writing, Spectacle, and World History

History of travel and migration | 1818-1972 CE | Travel journals, diaries, correspondence, drawings, guidebooks, and photographs | Focus on women's travel writing.

Victorian Popular Culture

British history | 1584-1978 CE | Diaries, correspondence, films, guidebooks, sheet music, playbills, photographs, periodicals, and ephemera.

Virginia Company Archives

American history, colonialism | 1537-1935 CE | Correspondence, legal documents, and business records.

Women in The National Archives

British history, women's history | 1903-1962 CE | Finding aid to British National Archives, government documents | Focus on Women's suffrage in Britain and British colonies.

Women Writers Online

A full-text collection of works written by women, in English or in English translation, before 1850.

World's Fairs

Social history | 1851-present | Official records, monographs, publicity, artwork and artifacts | A global history of exhibitions.