Databases on Law

Audiovisual Library of International Law

Consists of three sections: Historic Archives containing documents and audiovisual materials relating to the negotiation and adoption of significant legal instruments under the auspices of the United Nations and related agencies since 1945; (2) Lecture Series featuring a permanent collection of lectures on every subject of international law given by leading international law scholars and practitioners from different countries and legal systems; and (3) Research Library providing an on-line international law library with links to treaties, jurisprudence, publications and documents, scholarly writings and research guides. Video requires Real Player.

CQ Press Library

Background information on U.S. congress, public policy, and current affairs.

HeinOnline

A comprehensive, image-based collection of legal periodicals, treaties, U.S. Supreme Court cases, U.S. Attorney General opinions, and the Federal Register. Many historical collections of world wide resources.

Kluwer Law International

Full text access to Common Market Law Review, Journal of World Trade, European Foreign Affairs Review, and Journal of International Arbitration.

Lexis Nexis Academic

This database has changed its name.  See Nexis Uni

LexisAdvance

Legal research database featuring largely U.S. cases, international materials, and secondary sources.  

Limited use Fletcher resource. Please see Ginn Research and Instruction Librarians regarding access.

Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law

Comprehensive analytical resource covering all major topics in public international law. Articles are peer reviewed and have linked references.

Multilaterals Project (Fletcher School)--archived

The Fletcher Multilaterals Project (1992-2009) is an archived project of The Fletcher School (Tufts University, Medford, Massachusetts) which made the texts of international multilateral conventions and other instruments available online. The project was initiated to improve public access to environmental agreements, but also includes treaties in the fields of human rights, commerce and trade, laws of war and arms control, and other areas. While most of the included texts date from 1945 or later, the collection also includes older historical texts, from the 1648 Treaty of Westphalia to the Covenant of the League of Nations.

Nexis Uni (previously known as LexisNexis Academic)

Comprehensive world news, business, financial, and legal resource.

Oxford Bibliographies

Authoritative research guides on a wide variety of subjects.

Oxford Constitutions of the World

Oxford Constitutions of the World contains fully-translated English-language versions of all the world's constitutions (both national and sub-national), accompanied by individual jurisdictional commentaries, and supplementary materials, including foundation documents, historical versions of constitutions, and amendment Acts/Laws.

Oxford Scholarly Authorities in International Law

Contains full-text online editions of market-leading reference works and treatises published by OxfordUniversity Press.

Oxford Scholarship Online, Law

This site is comprised of electronic versions of select texts published by Oxford University Press. The texts in the Law section are primarily from the following series: Oxford studies in European law, Oxford monographs in international law, Oxford monographs in criminal law and justice, Clarendon studies in criminology, Oxford monographs in labour law, Oxford studies in modern legal history, Oxford studies in international economic law, and the International courts and tribunals series.

ProQuest Congressional

A major online resource for information on all aspects of Congressional work. Includes hearing transcripts, committee reports, bills, committee prints, the Congressional Record, the Federal Register, the Code of Federal Regulations, and public laws. (Formerly known as LexisNexis Congressional Universe)

SIPRI Yearbook Online

Provides an overview of developments in international security, weapons and technology, military expenditure, the arms trade and arms production, and armed conflicts, along with efforts to control conventional, nuclear, chemical and biological weapons.

Social Law Library

Portal to a selection of legal information, including LegalTrac Index to law periodicals, and Massachusetts courts and administrative agencies databases.

United Nations-Official Document System (ODS)

The Official Documents System ODS covers all official United Nations documentation from 1992 forward.  Historical UN documents are also being added to the system.  ODS holdings include resolutions of the General Assembly, Security Council, Economic and Social Council, and the Trusteeship Council from 1946 onward.

Westlaw

Ginn Library/Tufts no longer subscribes to the Westlaw database for legal research.  Former Westlaw users are encouraged to contact the Ginn Research and Instruction Librarians regarding access to Lexis Advance, a database featuring largely U.S. cases, international materials, and secondary sources. 

World Treaty Library

This collection brings together Rohn, Dumont, Bevans, Martens, League of Nations, United States, and United Nations treaties into one fully searchable database. Includes related treaty publications, scholarly articles, and a bibliography of related publications.

WorldTradeLaw.net

Provides access to primary source documents related to international trade law, a full-text search engine for GATT/WTO decisions, and links to related information on the Web. Includes Dispute settlement commentary (DSC), provides summaries and analysis of WTO Panel and Appellate Body reports, an index of legal provisions and terms, and a database of dispute settlement tables and statistics.